The Dreaded Slump

The past couple weeks or so I’ve been in a slump. Do you know what I mean? A rut. A funk. Whatever you want to call it… I’ve just felt off my game.

I’m not quite sure how it came about, but the other day I just acknowledged it and asked some people around me about it and they were feeling the same way! I thought maybe my daily routine was becoming too mundane, or maybe I was starting my days off with a negative mindset. All in all, I haven’t felt too inspired and just… blah.

So, I wanted to do something about it! I asked some people around me what they thought about the slump, and how to get out of it and our thoughts boiled down to this:

  1. Just acknowledge that it’s a slump! It’s only temporary.
  2. Use this as a way to figure out what isn’t working in your routine and find ways to spruce it up!
  3. Be mindful of the media you consume. (I don’t know about ya’ll but all this election talk seriously overwhelms me… this could definitely be a source of this slumpy feeling)

Here’s what I’ve been trying to implement to overcome this little slump. Any other ideas that help – feel free to comment!

  1. Post on the blog more regularly! Hopefully weekly. It makes me so excited to write just for fun and to share what’s on my mind.
  2. Try to read more. I think reading does so much good for the mind, and is definitely a great way to stay inspired.
  3. Be more intentional with my nightly routine. I can’t tell ya’ll how many times I fell asleep with my lights on over the past couple of weeks. I’m really trying harder to unwind at the end of the day, so my next day is a fresh start… not a hazy blur because I was too lazy to prepare the night before.
  4. Incorporate some spontaneity into the week! As a frugal gal, I try to pack my lunch every day, but sometimes you just gotta get out of the office! Something as simple as going out to lunch or dinner during the week makes a big difference in my mood.
  5. Get off social media. I’ve been trying to unplug more, but I’ll admit… it’s tough. It’s just such a time waster and often makes me feel quite discouraged. Less screen time = more in-person time.

Thanks for reading, and I hope this helps if you’ve experienced the same feeling!

The Dreaded Slump

Leave a Reply

